Back to the daily grind

11 Aug

I’m back from my trip to Michigan, and we all know what that means…

Time for “real life” to start again! Although the Hubby did an amazing job taking care of the puppy, and his mom, and managing the moving of her furniture into a “storage unit” (our garage), the house definitely needed a cleansing touch from me!

I’ve got a neverending long “to-do” list.  And I’m a big list maker! Not only do I have a daily list, I also have a weekly, and monthly one as well! That’s why I’ve been MIA for the past week, besides that I just haven’t been eating anything very interesting, mostly quick meals, as well as my food budget being tight.  I guess nothing can compare to all the FREE food I was fed last week in Michigan.

-We’re also in the process of trying to sell some of his mom’s furniture, I’ve got to get my classroom in order for the school year, get the car washed, oil changed, my eyes examined, AND run a garage sale this weekend!

Needless to say, I’m feeling a little overwhelmed! :-/ Oh, and my camera decided to eat the only posed pictures I took with my little brother this weekend (the one I hadn’t seen for a year!)  >:-(

Oh well, on a more cheerful note, I will be doing a major freezer meal cooking day on Saturday with 3-5 of my good friends from church! This is the 2nd time we’ve tried it, so we’re going to try for 8 meals this time! It’s a great way to save on cooking costs, and have dinner available literally at your fingertips in your freezer.   Very convenient after a long day filled with music classes and private piano lessons!  No fancy meals, just simple, pop-in-the-oven type of food.  We will be making the following:

  • mini turkey meatloaves
  • chicken tortellini cacciatore (made this last time, and it was DELISH!)
  • BBQ Chicken Pizza
  • beef stroganoff
  • fish & shrimp with sugar snap peas in foil packets
  • chicken enchilada casserole

I’ll have to take pictures and let you know how it all turns out.  I’ll be sure to post a recipe or two as well!

That’s it for now, sorry no food info, or pictures today. I feel kinda burnt out so I’m gonna take a power nap- Freezer Dinners coming soon!

QUESTION: Have you ever tried making freezer meals or cooking for weeks at a time?

Leave a Reply

