A Taste For Something New

10 Jul

So last night I baked Mama Pea‘s Banana Chocolate Chip Millet Muffins!  Ever since she posted it I’ve been hunkering for a taste of banana and chocolate.  So I waited, and waited, and waited for my bananas to get ripe. At least that’s the way it felt, usually I complain that my bananas ripen too fast in this hot and humid Texas heat.

I won’t bother you with the details since she already did a picture tutorial.  All I can say is, DELISH! I loved the slightly crunchy texture of the millet flour.  The food critics tasted them: me, the hubby, and the MIL.

My verdict: yummy, i love the banana and chocolate and texture.

Hubbs’ vote:”didn’t like the hot banana slice on top- said the chocolate and banana flavors were smacking him in the face.”  Liked it room temp though.  (Keep in mind he isn’t a big muffin eater)

MIL:  “Que rico!” Translation: very tasty!

In other food news I finally tried two food items that the food blog word is always raving about.  Sabra Hummus and  Cedar’s Tzatziki Yogurt Dip.

I’ve had hummus before, but seeing blog after blog after blog about hummus made me develop a huge craving for it.  I initially bought the Spinach and Artichoke flavor, which I used up the 10 oz. size after only a couple of days- it didn’t stand a chance! This past week I purchased the Roasted Red Pepper Hummus, which was equally delish! Luckily I still have enough to last me until my next grocery run.  If I keep making crack wraps with spinach it will be gone in a wink!

When I went to the Sabra website for stats on the yummus hummus, I found out that they have FIFTEEN, yes, 15, flavors of the yummy stuff!!  I think my local walmart only carrys 3-4 kinds!  I’m definitely going to check out some other groceries to find some of the other flavors! Chipotle Hummus and Greek Olive Hummus, Pine Nut Hummus, OMG!!!

QUESTION: What flavor of hummus should I try next?

Diana is always praising the Tzatziki so I gave it a go.  Very good- creamy and tastes like a yogurty version of sour cream and onion dip, although with cucumber bits added.  Very creamy and low-cal, only 35 calories, although not too many nutrients besides that- would be an excellent alternative to sour cream or ranch dressing (as long as you only eat a serving!)

I’m really enjoying my summer finding new and interesting food products to try! After all this talk of greek yogurt, I think I’m going to have to give it another try.  Tried it plain for breakfast in Paris and thought it tasted like sour cream! (not exactly what I was looking for for breakfast with my sweet tooth!)

QUESTION: What should be my next “special” food purchase?

5 Responses to “A Taste For Something New”

  1. dianacheung July 10, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    more sabra…i can’t get enough. just stock up on 8 tins of their hummus and you’ll be fine…jk! Your next foodie purchase should be a jar of peanut butter & co peanut butter. DELLISH.

    • cinnamonlvr July 10, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

      Diana,

      I did try a jar of PB& CO peanut butter, after seeing so many bloggers raving about it. Only have one store that carries it, and only one flavor; White Chocolate Wonderful. Boy it was wonderful! I was really hoping to find the Dark Chocolate Dreams!! 🙂

  2. Mama Pea August 1, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    I’ll slap that husband in the face…

    (totally kidding)

    I’m glad you at least liked the muffins and your MIL too!

    • Erin G August 1, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

      He’s not really into baked goods or sweets except for ice cream or oreos. He doesn’t even like homemade cookies!! So he’s a little weird… 🙂
      I’ll cut him some slack though because he always eats whatever I make for dinner, no matter whether its a steak (his fave) or the recent parsley-pea pesto that I served with whole wheat rotini. My sister declared it weird and green.
      Thanks for your comment, and the recipe! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fine Art Show Artist Preview Party « The Crafty-Foodie-Musician - August 1, 2010

    […] as you may have noticed from my Chic-fil-A post, I ❤ freebies! I scored a bunch of free Burt’s Bees pomegranate scrub and all natural […]

Leave a Reply

